IAGA confirm award prize details for research papers in 2016/17

Casino review IAGA
Share this article

Two J.D students will receive awards from IAGA for their research papers as part of the association’s Shannon Bybee inspired awards ceremony at G2E next year.


[dropcap]T[/dropcap]he International Association of Gaming Advisors (IAGA) has announced that it will award prizes of $2,500 for each of the two best research papers written by J.D. students of accredited or international equivalent law schools as part of their class work during the 2016-2017 school year.

The awards will be announced during the Global Gaming Expo (G2E) in Las Vegas on October 3 – 5, 2017.

The awards honor the memory of Shannon Bybee, one of IAGA’s founders, who had a distinguished career as a gaming attorney, Nevada regulator, industry executive, and pioneer in the field of education in casino operations and gaming law.

Inducted into the American Gaming Association’s Hall of Fame in 2002 because of his significant contributions to responsible gaming, Bybee also played an important role in the development of problem gambling regulations and advocacy.

Full criteria on the 2017 Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award is available from Jennifer Roberts: Jennifer.roberts@unlv.edu.

The closing date is 5:00 p.m. PST on July 15, 2017.

The Director of the 2017 Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award is Peter Bernhard, former Chairman of the Nevada Gaming Commission. Co-Chairs of the Shannon Bybee Scholarship Committee are Tom Auriemma, gaming industry consultant and adjunct faculty at Rutgers Law School – Newark, and Jennifer Roberts, Associate Director of the UNLV International Center for Gaming Regulation and adjunct professor of gaming law at both UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law and University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law. They are joined by committee members Ken Oettle, senior counsel at Sills Cummis & Gross in New Jersey, and Maren Parry, gaming attorney with Ballard Spahr in Las Vegas.

Share this article